Buffy is everywhere.

I have not written about Buffy the Vampire Slayer in about, oh, two weeks. But I am not done thinking about Buffy, or writing about Buffy, and certainly not done reading about Buffy. The amount of content produced by Buffy fans in the past 15 years could never be read in its entirety. And new material appears everyday. I’m doing it right now. As distance from the series’ end increases, so too it seems do the number of Buffy-philes. If you don’t believe me just check out the Sunnydale Herald at Buffyworld.com, which catalogues everything on the subject of Buffy, from fan-fic to commentary and articles. It grows and grows.

buffylogo

Trudging through that mountain of content is an intentional endeavor, though. More surprising are the times you find a quick aside, a mention of Buffy that comes up totally unexpected. This happened to me today. I’m thinking my way through a piece that I’m working on, not about Buffy, but about American violence and television and film.

Anyway. I was poking around and I ended up on  David Simon’s (creator of The Wire) blog Audacity of Despair. I’ve read it before and appreciate it. I ended up on a year old post and, unexpectedly, I read this:

I don’t think the Wire has all the right answers.  It may not even ask the right questions.  It is certainly not some flawless piece of narrative, and as many good arguments about real stuff can be made criticizing the drama as praising it.  But yes, the people who made the Wire did so to stir actual shit.  We thought some prolonged arguments about what kind of country we’ve built might be a good thing, and if such arguments and discussions ever happen, we will feel more vindicated in purpose than if someone makes an argument for why The Wire is the best show in years.  (“Buffy,” by the way, was the correct answer to that particular bracketfest.)

Then I thought, nice work David Simon. I think you’re right.

Previously: Buffy the Vampire Slayer and the Despair of Young Men with Guns
Previously: A Nod to 10 years of Buffy Studies

One response to “Buffy is everywhere.

  1. Pingback: we do not want a Buffy movie, people. | Third Ten Million Years·

Leave a Reply

