why is it always Jared Leto?

I’ve been thinking a great deal about film and violence of late. A lot. And in this stream of thought I have realized an interesting thing about American Cinema and the subject of violence: things do not bode well for Jared Leto. It has occurred to me that some of my favorite films about violence tend to put to vicious ends the characters of Mr. Leto.

You know Jared Leto. He won the hearts of America’s teenager girls as television’s Jordan Catalano, then to keep those hearts he started that emo band, 30 Seconds to Mars (a band which “transcends the chaos of the modern world by allowing listeners to imagine themselves away from it”…can’t make that up). He also makes movies, from time to time. Jared Leto is a good actor, often in excellent movies. And in those movies, I have come to realize, he seems to be on the receiving end of terrible, terrible things.

I don’t know what it means to now carry the knowledge that upon the body of Jared Leto terrible acts of violence are perpetrated. Other than the fact that when you think long and hard on a subject, you’ll learn unnecessary bits of trivia. There is fodder for a college essay on the subject; so if you’re in a film 102, take it away.

Since I’m not going to write that college essay, I thought I’d just take a moment to remember Jared Leto’s bad old days in three of my favorite films on the subject of violence. So:

The moment before:

The moment of:

And the moment after:

And, for good measure, perhaps his worst ending of all:

Leave a Reply

