Man Holding Assorted Ducks

As a fan of history and the internet, I occasionally dig around in the National Archives for interesting, curious or educational bits of Americana. Today, I was doing just that, browsing old photographs tagged Minnesota, when I saw the title “Man Holding Assorted Ducks, 1924“. Is it humanly possible to pass up such an invitation? The photo comes from the files of a lawsuit, United States vs. Lands in County of Dakota and Washington.

Here’s the photo as I saw it initially:

assorted ducks1

Beautiful. A great picture of a contented man after what can only be described as a successful day of shooting.

It got better, though, when I realized I was not seeing the entire file. Here’s the complete image:

assorted ducks 2

What greater mystery can there be than that simple handwritten note? Oh, to know what I would or wouldn’t.

I like to think I probably would.

Leave a Reply

