Scalzi’s harassment policy: no harassment.

This is the way to a better world.

Sci-Fi author John Scalzi has created a Convention Harassment Policy that he will now require all cons to put in place if he is going to participate. It’s the simple kind of thing that should long ago have been implemented. Someone like Scalzi can have an actual impact in seeing change.

It’s a short list of things convention organizers can follow. Why?

“Because I want my friends and fans to be able to come to a convention and feel assured that the convention is making the effort to be a safe place for them. I want my friends and fans to know that if someone creeps on them, there’s a process to deal with it, quickly and fairly. And I want my friends and fans to know that I don’t support conventions that won’t go out of their way to do both of these things. I want them to know that if I’m showing up as a guest, it’s at a convention that has their backs.”

Nice work, sir.

Leave a Reply

